Alaska Sea Kayakers
from $110 per person
Kittiwake
- Length
- 3 hours (9:00 am or 1:00 pm)
No back-to-ship policy stated
Open daily 7 am to 5 pm, May 1 to September 15
Cruises start and end here from April to October, at two docks 1.4 miles apart; the newer one was declared a total loss after a September 2026 fire. Phillips' noon glacier cruise is $219 plus $32.95 for 2027.
Put in your ship's arrival and all-aboard times from your cruise planner. Each tour is checked against the time you have, minus the buffer you choose for getting off the ship and back to the pier.
Example times are filled in. Your cruise line's daily planner has the real ones, and a tender port needs more buffer.
| Operator | What you get | From | Length | Group | Min age | Back-to-ship | Cancellation | Book |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
KittiwakeIncludes Basic kayaking instruction in the harbor |
$110 per person |
3 hours (9:00 am or 1:00 pm) |
Not stated | Check dates | ||||
Glacier Quest Cruise |
$169 per adult |
3 hours 45 minutes (1:00 pm to 4:45 pm), May 15 to September 12, 2027 |
Guests 2 to 14 must be with an adult 18 or older | Not stated | Full refund 15+ days out; 25% kept from 14 days to 73 hours; none within 72 hours; refunded if Phillips cancels and cannot reschedule. | Check dates | ||
26 Glacier Cruise |
$219 per adult |
5 hours 15 minutes (12:00 pm to 5:15 pm), May 1 to October 10, 2027 |
Guests 2 to 14 must be with an adult 18 or older | Not stated | Full refund 15+ days out; 25% kept from 14 days to 73 hours; none within 72 hours; refunded if Phillips cancels and cannot reschedule. | Check dates |
From each operator's own website, checked October 22, 2026. How we compare.
What the cruise lines list for their own excursions in Whittier, from their websites.
| Line | Excursion | From | Length |
|---|---|---|---|
Norwegian (NCL) |
$249 per adult |
2 hrs (estimated) |
|
Holland America |
$269 per person |
5.25 Hours |
|
Holland America |
$359 per person |
8¾ Hours |
Read on each cruise line's website on October 22, 2026. Lines change these prices often, so check the page before you book.
Whittier has two cruise docks. The Whittier Cruise Terminal stands right beside Cliffside Marina, where Phillips Cruises & Tours checks in its day-cruise guests, and Phillips says Holland America and Princess use it. Cruise Line Agencies of Alaska's 2026 schedule lists 55 calls there, by ships such as Coral Princess, Westerdam and Nieuw Amsterdam. The same schedule put 42 calls at the Glacier Creek dock's south and north berths, 1.4 miles from the marina, among them Norwegian Jade, Seven Seas Explorer, Riviera and Azamara Pursuit.
Huna Totem finished Glacier Creek, which Seatrade Cruise News calls the Chugach Glacier Gateway, late in 2024, in partnership with Norwegian Cruise Line Holdings. On Monday, September 14, 2026, fire broke out there around 11 am with Norwegian Jade alongside. The ship left without damage. The Coast Guard said the tour boat Klondike Express, moored with no passengers aboard, was harmed only by flames and smoke spreading from the dock. Crews from Whittier, Anchorage and Girdwood fought the blaze until about 12:30 am the next day.
Alaska's fire marshal called the $80 million dock a "total loss," Seatrade reported on September 18, and Alaska Public Media said the marshal's office was investigating the cause. In a statement quoted by Seatrade, Huna Totem said it was still assessing the damage and that its "goal is to be operational for the 2027 season." CruiseMapper reports that Norwegian Jade's operations moved to the older terminal. As of October 23, 2026, the City of Whittier's news page carried no item on the fire. Phillips asks guests of the Glacier Creek lines who book direct to arrange their own ride to Cliffside Marina.
Whittier is an embarkation port, and ships stay from the small hours to the evening. Cruise Line Agencies of Alaska's 2026 calendar gives estimated times. It shows most Princess calls at the Whittier Cruise Terminal from 12:30 am to 8:30 pm, and Westerdam and Nieuw Amsterdam from 1 am to 7:30 or 8 pm. Norwegian Jade was listed at Glacier Creek from 5 am to 7 pm on September 14 and 5 am to 3 pm on September 26. The season ran from April 28 to October 5.
Road access is through the Anton Anderson Memorial Tunnel, a single lane of 13,300 ft (4,100 m) shared with trains, opened to the public in 2000. From May 1 to September 30 it runs 5:30 am to 11:15 pm. Cars enter Whittier on the half hour and leave on the hour, in 15-minute windows. From October 1 to April 30 it runs 7 am to 10:45 pm, and at 32°F or below it opens only for the last 5 minutes of each window. The last summer opening out of Whittier is at 11 pm, and unscheduled trains can add 15 to 30 minutes.
The City of Whittier asks drivers to reach the staging area 10 minutes before an opening and to allow 20 to 30 more minutes for the passage. For cruise departures it advises at least an hour for the drive from Anchorage to the tunnel's Bear Valley end, and 1.5 hours in summer. Phillips recommends the 10:30 am tunnel for self-drive guests on its noon cruise, leaving Anchorage by 9 am. Its coach leaves Cliffside Marina at 5:45 pm and reaches Anchorage airport about 8 pm; the Glacier Discovery train leaves at 6:45 pm.
Phillips' 26 Glacier Cruise covers 120 miles of College Fjord and Prince William Sound from noon to 5:15 pm, with a hot meal, between May 1 and October 10, 2027. Adults pay $219 plus $32.95 in taxes and fees ($251.95), and children 2 to 11 pay $169.95. Holland America's 26 Glaciers Cruise, open only to guests whose cruise neither starts nor ends in Whittier, costs $269 for 5.25 hours. Its guests walk a short way from the ship to the catamaran, and a hot meal is included.
The Glacier Quest Cruise runs 1:00 to 4:45 pm over 45 miles of Blackstone Bay and Passage Canal at 19 knots, passing 10 glaciers and a kittiwake rookery. It costs $169 plus $32.95 for adults ($201.95) and $131.95 for children, from May 15 to September 12, 2027. It is the only Phillips cruise the Anchorage train reaches in time, and the rail package is $338.95. Phillips lists sea otters, harbor seals, Steller sea lions, Dall's porpoise, whales, mountain goats and black bears among the wildlife.
Alaska Sea Kayakers' most popular trip, the 3-hour Kittiwake, leaves at 9 am or 1 pm. It begins with basic instruction in the harbor and heads for a black-legged kittiwake rookery 2 miles across the fjord, for $110 plus 5% sales tax with a two-person minimum. Longer days cost $210 for 7 to 10 miles of Passage Canal and $325 for a 5-hour Shotgun Cove paddle reached by charter boat. Blackstone Bay is $435, for ages 10 and up with four or more. NCL's 2-hour van tour of Whittier is $249 per adult.
We list two local operators for Whittier. Phillips Cruises & Tours, which says it has cruised Alaska's waters since 1958, checks guests in at Cliffside Marina beside the Whittier Cruise Terminal. It will hold bags in a secure spot by its office during the cruise, though guests move their own luggage, and coolers, luggage and large bags are not allowed aboard. Its 26 Glacier Cruise takes wheelchairs, with boarding by ramp and an ADA-accessible restroom. Every guest shows photo ID at check-in.
Phillips refunds individual bookings in full 15 or more days out, keeps 25% from 14 days to 73 hours, and refunds nothing within 72 hours. Groups of 15 or more adults lose 50% in the middle band. Date changes need 72 hours' notice and cost $25 per reservation. Weather can change the route without a refund. If Phillips cancels and cannot reschedule, it refunds the cruise fare but not rental cars, parking or tunnel tolls. Its coach is refundable up to 74 hours ahead and its rail up to 8 days.
Alaska Sea Kayakers opens daily from 7 am to 5 pm between May 1 and September 15 and books by phone (1-907-278-2534) or through its contact page. Every trip needs at least two paddlers, Blackstone Bay four, and only Blackstone Bay states an age limit. Its pages give no meeting point, no notes for cruise passengers and no cancellation or weather terms. Neither operator publishes a back-to-ship guarantee.
from $110 per person
Kittiwake
No back-to-ship policy stated
Open daily 7 am to 5 pm, May 1 to September 15
from $169 per adult
Glacier Quest Cruise and 1 more option
No back-to-ship policy stated
Stores luggage in a secure spot next to its office during the cruise; guests move their own bags
Prices and policies come from each operator's own pages, read on October 22, 2026. Seasons, rules and local details come from the pages below.